Coming Up Paisley

My scarf thinks it’s paisley
and far be it from me
to contradict such a precious delusion
to remove identity found
through the willful ignorance
of two kids playing at god

Gods though we may be
it was only in the absence of truth
that we were able to agree
only in realms made real
through the destructive omnipotence
of overfed imaginations

I hesitate at such world warping
because a delusion like me
can’t corroborate colors
when reality catches us
because I’m coming up paisley
and neither of us knows what it means

Leave a Reply

