Eve

In the beginning was the word
and what a word it was
a bridge between the two of us
adjoining cause to cause
you with a bone to pick
my enjoyment to flaunt laws

You found me then as you do now
a coward with a gentle touch
who whispers wonders in your ear
on soundless keys intoned so lush
and guides you to a grove of trees
our footfalls slither under us

One last attempt and then I’m done
I’ll waste your time no more
take but a bite and know what was
what future has in store
this world’s words are all for you
the one that I adore

Leave a Reply

