One Man Band

If I manage the right words
you’ll wind up free
and I’ll windup happily
clapping my cymbals
for the next sucker
who can’t resist a nice fez

See freedom do freedom
this monkey’s song is simple
but getting you to listen
when my tune hasn’t changed
is a prayer
to extemporaneous divinity

Repetition is all I have
so get this through your head
all I have for you is love
yet I’m asking you to leave
to take off my ring
and tell me that it’s not enough

Convince me of my failure
that I couldn’t play a single note
and hope to find you
still by my side
convince me that these fears
are not mine alone

Leave a Reply

