Application Expiration

It was never enough
and we knew it
a collaborative dismissal
of what got in our way
the distance that defined
what wound up as us

Most of a year
you’d been silent
and I started to half-hope
that some manner of happy
was keeping you away
then this

I tried getting mad
failing first with you
then myself
who manufactures prudence
from cowardice
love from fear

There was no anger
just regret
remembered from first loves
failures to articulate
in a timely manner
what was obvious for all

Three days I deleted words
freshly written
enough to fill a letter
with singular sentiment
love
adorned in petty lies

If this reaches you
then I’m sorry
that I am still the me
who wishes for you
while leaving boxes blank
application unfullfilled

Leave a Reply

