A Wish Resigned

I’m offering this last complacency
an outstretched dream
freshly dreampt

You were weightless
save a smile
I may never get to see
but made anyways
made to hurt
from all my favorite sad stories

Delicately placed
atop a photo
fogged by one trying to forget
and failing
your features
remade to phenomenon

A universe in my arms
carried across sleep’s threshold
a bride made bridge
to barren home
rental really
real estate I don’t own

The loneliness is mine
along with a few books
in a box
spines safely out of sight
memories I’m saving
for when I settle down

If it were you
it would be easy
the you who made it hard
to stop sending letters
that failed at words
three syllables left stranded

As I hope this finds you
I dread it might
remembered love by morning’s light

Leave a Reply

